outline-minor-mode-prefix manually changed to C-o again

After the exciting upgrade of my current CVS Emacs to the newly released Emacs 23.1, I have to manually edit the outline.el file again to change the outline-minor-mode-prefix to “C-o”. According to my personal preference on the outline mode, the default “C-c @” commands seems too long and awkward to type. Therefore I am used to the following hacks in my .emacs file:

;; bind the outline-minor-mode-prefix C-c @ to C-o
(global-unset-key (kbd “C-o”))
(global-set-key (kbd “M-o”) ‘open-line)
;; Set the minor mode prefix to C-o
(setq outline-minor-mode-prefix “\C-o”)

However, from emacs 23, this hack does not work anymore. I have to manually edit the installation_dir/lisp/outline.el to change the outline-minor-mode-prefix from “C-c@” to “C-o”. Then I have to byte-compile the outline.el to outline.elc again. I wonder if there is another more elegant way to do this job, other my current ugly approach??

By the way, I think the outline mode is better for documents instead of codes, therefore I only added the following hooks:

;; add hook to the following major modes so that the outline minor mode starts automatically
(add-hook ‘muse-mode-hook ‘outline-minor-mode)
(add-hook ‘html-mode-hook ‘outline-minor-mode)
(add-hook ‘LaTeX-mode-hook ‘outline-minor-mode)

One thought on “outline-minor-mode-prefix manually changed to C-o again

  1. Pingback: How can I hide/display LaTeX section just like org-mode does with headlines? | CL-UAT

Leave a Reply

